I love a wide variety of movies. I just like movies in general. It is difficult to pinpoint what I like the most or what I dislike. But when I think about those movies that I really love more than others, what stands out to me is uniqueness. The movies I like the most are those that have their own little quirks: films that create their own worlds. This quality will certainly be different for everyone. A film that seems so original and creative to me may seem like the most clichéd and boring wastefulness to the next person. For each of my favorites, I have different reasons as to why I think they are unique.

quentin-tarantino Quentin Tarantino is one of my favorite filmmakers as a writer and director because the films are uniquely his. They are easy to identify and group together, although each one is special. First and foremost, I love Tarantino dialogue. It is quick witted, cheeky, and edgy. In fact, everything about his films is a little edgy. He’s not afraid to show blood and gore, and he’s also not afraid to make that kind of stuff into humor. A lot of people are surprised when I say I love Quentin Tarantino, because I don’t come across as an edgy, black humor sort of person. But maybe that’s why I like this films so much. I like escaping to a gritty world of dark humor, swearing, and violence. And I love how Tarantino makes us laugh with all of that.

singing-in-the-rain

       But I don’t just look for dark humor in movies. I also go to films to find joy. One filmmaker that I think is unique in his ability to bring joy to the screen is Gene Kelly. His films might be old fashioned and corny, but his joyous tap dancing and smile set him apart. When I watch the title number of Singin’ in the Rain, I can’t help but be filled with joy. It’s not just regular happiness that I might get from watching a comedy, but genuine, bursting joy.

       But, like I said before, some filmmakers have unique styles that don’t appeal to everyone. It’s hard for me to call someone my least favorite filmmaker, because I tend to like everything. So, when I say someone is my least favorite, that doesn’t necessarily mean that I think they are bad. They just don’t really suit me that well. I’m not a huge fan of Tim Burton. While his style is creative and special, I just don’t enjoy seeing it. I suppose I’m just not into the creepy, nightmarish stuff.

       I’m also pretty picky about the type of comedy that I like to watch and the comedic actors that I like. Will Ferrell is probably one of my least favorite comedians. I think the best way to describe it is that he’s too loud for me. True, I haven’t seen a lot of his movies, but from what I have seen, he comes across as a bit obnoxious. It’s a unique type of humor that I’m just not into.

Love or hate

If a filmmaker is especially unique, they will stand out to me, either in a good or a bad way. I suppose that is a risk that any artist takes when they are true to themselves and really follow their style. People will either hate them or love them.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

